Regional level

European Standards Organisations

European Standards Organisations develop standards over the European continent, under this name operate the European Committee for Standardization (CEN) and the European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization (CENELEC). These organisations cover the soon-to-be 28 European Union member states and includes states from the European Free Trade Association (Iceland, Norway and Switzerland) plus Macedonia and Turkey. Transposition of CEN/CENELEC standards into national standards is mandatory to the member states of these regional standards organisations.

European Committee for Standardisation (CEN)

The European Committee for Standardization (CEN) established a Technical Committee devoted to Nanotechnologies (CEN/TC 352 'Nanotechnologies') in 2005. CEN/TC 352 is currently under the secretary of the French Standardisation Agency (AFNOR) has three Working Groups:

  • WG1 Measurement, characterization and performance evaluation
  • WG2 Commercial and other stakeholder aspects 
  • WG3 Health, safety and environmental aspects

You can follow this link to the full catalogue of published standards of CEN/TC 352 and this link to the current standards under development.

European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization (CENELEC)

The European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization (CENELEC) focuses on electrotechnical matters. CLC/SR 113 is CENELEC's technical body on "Nanotechnology standardization for electrical and electronics products and systems".


Related Links

News & Alerts

NIA Exclusive Consultation: The role of standards in your company

As part of the Membership of NIA to nanotechnology standardisation committees, and on behalf of BSI NTI/1 - Nanotechnologies, the Association has put together a short Members survey on the use of nanotechnology standards.


NIA Members are invited to follow this link to reply to the questionnaire. The deadline for comments is 10 November 2015.

Closed Consultations